The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book

The Jungle Book is a collection of classic stories by English author Rudyard Kipling. The initial publications also contain stories by Rudyard’s father, John Lockwood Kipling. “The Jungle Book” was published in 1894.”The Second Jungle Book” was published in 1895. In 1907, Rudyard Kipling received a prestigious Nobel Prize for his work.

The stories are written using animals in attribution of human characteristics and are linked by poems. The stories are set in the backdrop of colonial India. The book contains stories of Mowgli, a boy raised in the jungle by wolves. Through his journey to adulthood he learns self-sufficiency and wisdom from the jungle animals. “The Jungle Book” is considered as a motivational book because of its moral quality such as honor, loyalty, courage, integrity, tradition and determination.

In 1942, Alexander Korda directed the film on “The Jungle Book”. On 18 October 1967, the tales of Mowgli became a Disney masterpiece.

Mowgli is the man-cub. Mowgli which mean “The frog” was the name given by mother Raksha.

Raksha is the mother wolf who raises Mowgli.

Akela is the wolf pack leader. He is also known as “Dead Wolf” and is under pressure to prove that he is still capable to be the leader.

Shere Khan is the tiger. His mother gave him another name- Lungri which means “The Lame One” as he was lame since birth.

Baloo, the bear teaches the Law of the Jungle to the wolf cubs.

Bagheera is a Black Panther who has a scar of the collar.

Kaa is the Rock Python who is also known as “footless yellow earthworm”. The moneys are very scared of him. 


Visitors Online

We have 29 guests online